top of page
Search
  • mydublindaybook

Accommodation

On July 1st I got my accommodation confirmed. When I was in Dublin after my A-levels, I stayed with ISA (International Student Accommodation). They offer flat shares in central Dublin, your roommates are international students. When I first made an inquire there was no single room available which is when my odyssey began: constantly checking out Daft, Nestpick, Spotahome, TU Studentpad...on the latter, which I can only recommend highly for all TU students. Via Studentpad I was in contact with a lovely lady who had a single room en-suite (=including own bathroom) in D7. She was amazing and so was her house, however, it was six kilometers from my campus. I met her on Skype and she was truly amazing. Long story short, during my consideration period of two days, there was a single room with ISA available, only 15 minutes walking distance to uni and 25 minutes to the city center. Though slightly more expensive and with less comfort (a house share with a total of twenty students, bathroom shared with three others), I opted for the D8 accommodation. I did what you should never do: paying a deposit in advance. However, I have stayed with them before, and I know they are a reliable organization. Still, be cautious. Do not pay deposits to people you don't know. There is a lot of scams in Dublin. Remember not to attach a copy of your ID card.

As this is a newly renovated object, there are no photos yet. On this, I just have to trust ISA and rely on my instincts. My room back in 2014 was comfy and nice. Let's hope that hope does not breed eternal misery. With this Pretty Little Liars reference I finish this one. Take care until next time :-)

Update: I moved into the accommodation two days ago and it is okay. There is always something to forfeit. My flatmates are very nice, though, we just have to get some stuff fixed.

 

Leave a comment if you have any questions

bottom of page